In brief
Model building codes in the US, Canada and Australia, and building-regulations guidance in England, cover assistive listening at some counters; the cited provisions do not name Auracast. Local adoption and the type of counter matter. Advocates describe counter use of Auracast as unresolved, and the sources cited here report no counter trial.
Why it matters
The cited codes and guidance address communication at counters, including those behind glass1,2. RNID identifies a harder joining process for encrypted Auracast than for a maintained counter loop, and the ADA Title III regulation requires privacy and independence when auxiliary aids are provided3,4.
Private one-to-one listening at counters is among the open needs identified by the Center for Hearing Access; RNID warns that smartphone-based selection and encrypted streams may make reception-desk access harder for some listeners5,3.
What the evidence shows
- Counter provisions differ. Canada's model code requires at least one counter at each location in assembly buildings to have an assistive listening system or adaptive technology, plus amplification where a glass screen is present1. Australia's model code requires hearing augmentation at screened ticket offices, teller's booths and reception areas where an inbuilt amplification system is installed, except one used only for emergency warning6. England's guidance covers any reception point, and service or reception counters in noisy areas or behind glazed screens, with an induction loop as the example2. The 2024 International Building Code requires an assistive listening system at one or more ticket windows at each location in stadiums and arenas7. For Germany, a 2014 academic summary reports that DIN 18040 requires a loop at new service counters with glazing and an intercom, at least one where there are several; it describes adoption in most German states at that time8.
- The cited assistive-listening provisions do not name Bluetooth or Auracast. The US, Canadian and Australian model codes depend on local adoption, and the English document is guidance on meeting building regulations1,6,2,7.
- Advocates list counters as unsolved. The Center for Hearing Access marks service counters, retail checkouts and speech-transfer systems as "yet to be solved" for Auracast9, and lists private one-to-one use at service desks and counters among the open needs5.
- Counter loops have their own limits. The international loop standard covers small loops for a listener close by and names ticket-counter systems among them10. A 2014 conference paper describing revised requirements expected to take effect in Germany that year reports, for counters, a field within ±6 dB over the defined zone and at most -20 dB where other customers wait8; a European standards report gives the counter tolerance as ±8 dB11, and a loop distributor's summary of the 2006 edition as a total variation of 9 dB12.
- Counter loops are often found off or unknown to staff. In about 500 reports by RNID campaign volunteers on UK post offices, banks, shops and theatres in 2009, nearly half found the loop not working properly, and others complained of untrained staff and loops left off13. In a 2017 Healthwatch audit at a Southampton hospital, two volunteers with hearing loss checked four reception locations in clinical areas and found one working loop; the report does not state the audit’s funding, and the authors asked for a named person responsible, staff training and regular tests14.
- Retail audit. An independent Lets Loop Southampton and Healthwatch Southampton volunteer audit, with separate audit funding unspecified, found loops at 39 of 295 central Southampton shops (13%) visited in 2017; this counts installed loops, with no published total of working systems. The report also records faults at ASDA, Body Shop and John Lewis, and subsequent repairs at the latter two15.
- A loop is still simpler at a desk. RNID finds that at a reception desk a maintained hearing loop gives people without a smartphone a simpler experience than an encrypted Auracast stream, and asks that desks keep loops until Auracast is equally simple3.
- Kiosks and terminals. The European ICT accessibility standard adopted in August 2026 says letting users connect assistive listening devices by Bluetooth, among other ways, can contribute to its enhanced-audio requirement, and still requires telecoil coupling for handsets held to the ear, which some kiosks have16.
- Privacy is part of the duty. Under the ADA Title III regulation, auxiliary aids must be provided in a way that protects the person's privacy and independence4.
Where sources disagree
The cited sources report no Auracast counter trial, leaving the advocates’ concerns unresolved9,3. The loop summaries give different small-area field tolerances: ±6 dB in the 2014 conference account, ±8 dB in the later ETSI report and 9 dB total variation in the distributor’s account of the 2006 edition. These summaries concern different editions or accounts and have not been checked against the full standard8,11,12,10.
What would settle it
Trials at counters and ticket windows with hearing-aid and implant users, covering the time needed to join, access without a smartphone, and whether nearby customers can listen to a private conversation. These would test the unresolved need for private one-to-one use identified by the Center for Hearing Access and RNID’s call for access as simple as a maintained loop5,3. Measurements of spill to waiting customers would address the separation described in the counter-loop summary, whose numeric targets still need checking against the full standard8,10.
Planning while it is open
- Check the locally adopted code and applicable guidance, including amplification and glazing conditions, since model codes and adoption dates differ1,6,2,7.
- Keep existing counter loops maintained, as RNID asks, until joining Auracast is equally simple3.
- Give someone responsibility for each counter loop, train counter staff, keep reception loops on whenever the desk is open, and test them regularly14,13.
- Check counter-loop spill into the waiting area: Seidler’s conference summary gives a limit of -20 dB there, but that figure has not been verified here against the full standard8,10.
Sources
- National Building Code of Canada 2025: assistive listening systems (Articles 3.8.2.9 and 3.8.3.19, Note A-3.8.3.19). Canadian Board for Harmonized Construction Codes. National Research Council Canada, 22 December 2025. Government (National Research Council Canada) ↩︎ https://doi.org/10.4224/26fz-gg26
- Approved Document M, Volume 2: buildings other than dwellings (2015 edition incorporating 2020 and 2024 amendments). UK Government. Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government (GOV.UK), 30 September 2024. Government (UK Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government) ↩︎ https://assets.publishing.service.gov.uk/media/66f6c5eec71e42688b65ee11/ADM__V2_with_2024_amendments.pdf
- Auracast: a revolution in audio accessibility (RNID Auracast report). RNID (Royal National Institute for Deaf People). RNID, 11 February 2025. Nonprofit advocacy (RNID, UK charity) ↩︎ https://rnid.org.uk/wp-content/uploads/2025/02/Final-Auracast-Report-110225.pdf
- 28 CFR 36.303: auxiliary aids and services (ADA Title III regulation). US Department of Justice. eCFR, 18 January 2017. Government (US Department of Justice) ↩︎ https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-28/section-36.303
- What is needed for Auracast streamed assistive listening systems to be available and usable. Center for Hearing Access (reviewed by Juliette Sterkens, AuD). Center for Hearing Access, The John G. Shedd Institute, 15 December 2024. Nonprofit advocacy (Center for Hearing Access, an initiative of The John G. Shedd Institute for the Arts; it states that it accepts no donations from hearing-related vendors) ↩︎ https://centerforhearingaccess.org/wp-content/uploads/What-is-needed-for-Auracast-streamed-ALS-to-be-available-and-usable.pdf
- National Construction Code 2025, Volume One, Part D4: D4D7 Signage and D4D8 Hearing augmentation. Australian Building Codes Board. Australian Building Codes Board (NCC online), 1 May 2026. Government (Australian Building Codes Board) ↩︎ https://ncc.abcb.gov.au/editions/ncc-2025/adopted/volume-one/d-access-and-egress/part-d4-access-people-disability
- 2024 International Building Code, Chapter 11 Accessibility: 1109.2.7 Assistive listening systems and 1112.4 Other signs. International Code Council. International Code Council (ICC Digital Codes), August 2023. Standards body (International Code Council) ↩︎ https://codes.iccsafe.org/content/IBC2024P1/chapter-11-accessibility
- Induktive Höranlagen – internationale Trends und aktuelle Normung (Induction loop systems: international trends and current standards). Seidler H. Fortschritte der Akustik – DAGA 2014 (annual conference of the German Acoustical Society, Oldenburg), pages 294-295, March 2014. Independent (Hannes Seidler, ENT clinic of the medical faculty, TU Dresden; funding not stated) ↩︎ https://pub.dega-akustik.de/DAGA_2014/data/articles/000138.pdf
- Assistive Listening Systems Quick Guide. Center for Hearing Access (reviewed by Juliette Sterkens, AuD). Center for Hearing Access, The John G. Shedd Institute, 29 October 2025. Nonprofit advocacy (Center for Hearing Access, an initiative of The John G. Shedd Institute for the Arts; it states that it accepts no donations from hearing-related vendors) ↩︎ https://centerforhearingaccess.org/wp-content/uploads/Assistive-Listening-Systems-Quick-Guide.pdf
- IEC 60118-4:2014 Electroacoustics - Hearing aids - Part 4: Induction-loop systems for hearing aid purposes - System performance requirements. IEC TC 29 (Electroacoustics). International Electrotechnical Commission, 11 December 2014. Standards body (International Electrotechnical Commission; the full text is sold, and only the abstract is public) ↩︎ https://webstore.iec.ch/en/publication/798
- ETSI TR 103 614 V1.1.1: Electromagnetic compatibility and Radio spectrum Matters (ERM); Hearing Loop System (HLS) intended to assist the hearing impaired in the frequency range 0 Hz to 9 kHz; System Reference Document. ETSI Technical Committee ERM. European Telecommunications Standards Institute, January 2022. Standards body (ETSI, the European telecommunications standards organisation, whose members include manufacturers; a system reference document that asks European spectrum regulators to keep 10 Hz to 9 kHz available for hearing loops, and that supports a radio-equipment standard it says the International Hearing Loop Manufacturers Association is drafting) ↩︎ https://www.etsi.org/deliver/etsi_tr/103600_103699/103614/01.01.01_60/tr_103614v010101p.pdf
- Loop Performance Standard IEC 60118-4:2006. UnivoxAudio Ltd. UnivoxAudio (knowledge centre wiki), undated (read 13 October 2026). Manufacturer (UnivoxAudio Ltd, the UK and Ireland distributor of the Swedish loop maker Bo Edin's Univox loop amplifiers) ↩︎ https://www.univoxaudio.co.uk/knowledge-centre-wiki/standards-legislation-and-best-practice/standard-iec-60118-4-2006
- RNID calls for businesses to do better on induction loops. Disability News Service, 23 May 2009. Nonprofit advocacy (reports gathered by campaign volunteers of the UK charity RNID and released for its Deaf Awareness Week campaign; reported by Disability News Service; labelled advocacy rather than an independent test because the reports were gathered for a campaign, with no test protocol described in the news report) ↩︎ https://www.disabilitynewsservice.com/rnid-calls-for-businesses-to-do-better-on-induction-loops/
- Hearing Loops at UHS FT: Audit of Hearing Loops. Dymond HF, for the sensory loss group and Healthwatch Southampton. Healthwatch Southampton (reports library of Healthwatch England), May 2017. Government (Healthwatch Southampton, the city's statutory health and social care watchdog, funded through the local authority; the audit was done by two of its volunteers with hearing loss, as members of University Hospital Southampton's sensory loss group) ↩︎ https://nds.healthwatch.co.uk/sites/default/files/reports_library/20170502_Southampton__Hearing-Loops-at-UHS-FT-Report.pdf
- Hearing Loops in Central Southampton: Auditing hearing loops in shops and restaurants across central Southampton. Lets Loop Southampton and Healthwatch Southampton. Lets Loop Southampton, 2018. Independent (Lets Loop Southampton and Healthwatch Southampton volunteer audit; separate audit funding is not specified; the report describes a £4,000 GoSouthampton contribution for businesses to obtain loops) ↩︎ https://letsloopsouthampton.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2018/05/Hearing-Loops-in-Central-Southampton-Report.pdf
- EN 301 549 V4.1.1 (2026-09): accessibility requirements for ICT products and services. ETSI, CEN and CENELEC. European Telecommunications Standards Institute, September 2026. Standards body (ETSI, CEN and CENELEC, the European standards organisations) ↩︎ https://www.etsi.org/deliver/etsi_en/301500_301599/301549/04.01.01_60/en_301549v040101p.pdf
Change log
- Published with 15 sources.
- Restored counter-rule conditions and local-adoption limits, distinguished loop tolerances and cited the evidence gaps.
- Independent audit clarified the conference paper’s timing and distinguished unstated audit funding from organisational funding.
- Added the Southampton retail loop audit, distinguishing loop presence from working provision.
- Audited the additions; tied the proposed counter trials more closely to the cited privacy and joining difficulties.
- Combined the counter audit corrections with the retail evidence and expanded trial questions; now cites 16 sources.
Cite this question
Equal Access Audio. “Can Auracast serve ticket windows, service counters and reception desks?” Assistive Listening Knowledge Base. Updated 13 October 2026. https://assistivelisteningknowledgebase.org/questions/service-counters/ (accessed the date you read it).
Every finding here cites its source, and who funded each source is labelled. This site does not recommend products. Found an error or a missing study? Suggest a correction, or see how suggestions are handled.